Philip Whiteley's Blog

November 14, 2014

A mid-November mini-tour

Filed under: Uncategorized — felipewh @ 12:36 pm

Next week I go on tour. Well, that’s a bit of an exaggeration, but I’ll be giving two talks to international business audiences on the theme of renewing the business model. On Monday I have the opportunity to address a group of executives attending a ‘Humanizing the Corporation’ two-day course at the CEDEP school, INSEAD in Fontainebleau near Paris. It’s based largely on the book Meet the New Boss, and I’ll be discussing wider cultural influences on the world of work. An excerpt reads:

The theme for this two-day event is ‘Humanizing the Corporation’. This begs the questions: how and why did we come to dehumanize it? What purpose has that served, what ideas shaped that approach? How do we counter it? I have given this matter a lot of thought over the past 15 years, and I have discussed the many influences on management practice in the books that I’ve published. I think that it has a lot to do with the stories we grow up with – and my conclusion is that most of them come from outside business, which makes my perspective rather different. So this evening I’d like to invite you to tip-toe outside the corporate tent and see what we find in the way of stories that shape how we view the managerial task.

On Thursday, I’ll be hosting the launch event of The Management Shift, by Vlatka Hlupic, connecting via video with a San Francisco event hosted by CollabWorks. I’ll say something on the following lines:

Remember, people are not only the most important asset. They create all the others!! Where else do you think they come from? A company creates and deploys resources, it doesn’t consist of them. So, sometimes, I think it’s funny to talk about nonsensical mechanistic metaphors of the old approach to business. But sometimes I get angry. Because it really is harmful for people working in business, and for their customers, and ultimately for their owners. There is an enlightened alternative, as Vlatka will demonstrate. It works in theory. It works in practice.

Now to rehearse the speeches …

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

