Philip Whiteley's Blog

May 29, 2015

Book tour and blogs

Filed under: Uncategorized — felipewh @ 8:20 am

A quick blog to record my thanks to the brilliant Catherine Hetherington and Linda Hobden, entrepreneurs who are custodians of, respectively, the New Bookshop in Cockermouth, Cumbria; and the Boots Shoes & Fashion blog, who have created terrific opportunities for me to discuss the ideas and characters of Close of Play this week.

Last Friday, I was featured in the ‘Boots’ blog. I have to say, it was a strange experience to be asked about fashion! That’s never happened as a business writer. But perhaps I will have to pay a bit more attention to footwear given the increasing number of public engagements…. A clip from the interview is below:

I’ve always been fascinated by people’s beliefs – whether you go to church; which political party you vote for and why, etc. I wanted to explore these ideas by putting together two Christian individuals having doubts and troubles in middle years. He’s the better sort of Tory, she’s the better sort of left-winger. So they have differences.

On Tuesday 26 May I gave a talk at the New Bookshop in Cockermouth. Thanks are also due to my wonderful sister-in-law Marilyn Lawrence, who helped arrange the talk. Around 30 people turned up, and we had a good discussion about cricket, nicknames, character, and the reasons why Elizabeth prefers to call Brian ‘Colin’ when she knows it’s ‘wrong’. I was particularly pleased to hear warm commendation from those who had finished the book, and who aren’t friends/don’t owe me favours! In general, the feedback to Close of Play has been rather more positive than I dared hope. Excerpts from some more reviews follow. Sincerely, I don’t know these people:

“As for the ending, well, you’re going to have to read it to find out. Seriously, do.”

“This book is written in the most beautiful language. I took longer to read it than normal because I would read a sentence or a paragraph and have to go back and re-read it; such was the enjoyment.”

“This is a book for a sunny day and a glass of wine. Read it and rekindle your faith in humankind.”

  • Several people have asked me about the next book. It’s due to be set in Belgium in August 2014, following a pub crawl of Leeds United fans …. But [hard sell follows] I don’t have a contract yet, so it will help enormously if we can boost sales of Close of Play. If you loved it, do consider buying a copy as a gift, or writing a review at Amazon: http://www.amazon.co.uk/Close-Play-PJ-Whiteley/dp/190927352X/ref=cm_aya_orig_subj
    Or at GoodReads: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/23493580-close-of-play
    From Monday, you’ll be able to register an online vote for Close of Play in this summer’s People’s Book Prize! Details will be on this blog, plus my Facebook, Linked-in and Twitter accounts.
Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

